Newbie thinking about purchasing CC...

User 2894458 Photo

17 posts

Hi all,
Newbie Dano here. Happy Sunday!. So here is my story in a nutshell. Im not a Developer but am a Website owner. I have been using Dreamweaver CS3 for a long time and its been working great. However its now on the cloud and very expensive, at least for us. Last year Adobe stopped supporting CS3 and I am concerned that it will eventually stop working all together and then I'm stuck :).

So I have looked into CoffeeCup several times but have some concerns/questions.

I use Dreamweaver primarily because I can view Code and Design view, and also do a preview of my site before uploading changes to the server.

Also, the real biggy for me for using DW is its DWT, Dreamweaver Template which allows me to do Global Changes to multiple pages with one change. For example when updating the Menu bar etc.

Questions: How much of a learning curve would it Coffeecup be?
How similar is it to DW?
Does it have the ability to do Global changes and how hard/easy is it ?

Also, if I did purchase CoffeeCup, would I be able to try it out on the same computer that I currently have Dreamweaver on? or would it be a system conflict? I have Win-10..

Thanks for all your time and in advance for all your help and suggestions...

dano
User 2699991 Photo

4,782 posts
Online Now

Questions: How much of a learning curve would it Coffeecup be?

it is quite a big learning curve, but not too difficult if you are familiar with layouts & stuff.
& there are plenty of people here on the forums who can & will assist you with any help/questions you have

How similar is it to DW?
Completely different

Does it have the ability to do Global changes and how hard/easy is it ?
You can set up something called "symbols" in SDv3 (or earlier version) that is a global thingy, a bit like the 3 musketeers "one for all, all for one"