limit on size of Javascript files? -...

User 2981014 Photo

5 posts

I'm just learning JS, so this question is elementary. I have a .js file which is basically a (long) list of sentences (in Italian -- the web site will be a tool for learning Italian). It works fine -- until the number of lines in the file reaches about 2770, some (not many) of which are blank lines separating batches of sentences. But, if I then add another batch, with exactly the same kind of code, format, etc (I've checked that very carefully!), it doesn't work (won't print the batch to document). If there is a limit to the size of a .js file, that would explain the problem. If not, I'm totally baffled! I could post some sample code to get help. But first I need to know if there is a limit. This is not a CoffeeCup issue -- exactly the same thing happens with other editors I've tried.
Thanks,
Ben Crain
User 187934 Photo

Senior Advisor
20,190 posts

Hi Ben,
Can you explain a little more? Which app are you trying to use? Can you provide a sample file?
Maybe we can come up with an alternative method.
I can't hear what I'm looking at.
It's easy to overlook something you're not looking for.

This is a site I built for my work.(RSD)
http://esmansgreenhouse.com
This is a site I built for use in my job.(HTML Editor)
https://pestlogbook.com
This is my personal site used for testing and as an easy way to share photos.(RLM imported to RSD)
https://ericrohloff.com
User 3086477 Photo

22 posts

Here are the current types of caps that Never-Slow Mode would enforce, as well as the limits for each:

Per-image max size: 1MB
Total image budget: 2MB
Per-stylesheet max size: 100kB
Total stylesheet budget: 200kB
Per-script max size: 50kB
Total script budget: 500kB
Per-font max size: 100kB
Total font budget: 100kB
Total connection limit: 10
Long-task limit: 200ms