CoffeeCup newby requests website...

User 2906708 Photo

1 post

I created my website, adoptababygrand.com , in 2005 but have never had anyone critique it for improvements. As you will see on the site, I am a piano technician, not a website designer. All suggestions appreciated.

I want to know:
A. From the moment you arrive at the site how long does it take for you to have a good understanding of its purpose?
B. If you were in the market to purchase a used grand piano how inclined would you be to make inquiry as opposed to just clicking on to the next website in your search?
C. After reading through the site do you see the advantage I am trying to help my clients see? . . . that I offer the same benefit you will get from a piano retailer as opposed to buying a used piano from an individual, yet without the retail price.
User 2699991 Photo

4,803 posts
Online Now

Hi Ed
If I can be so bold as to be critical without sounding Pretentious or condescending, which I am not either) here is my view:
A/ From the moment you arrive at the site how long does it take for you to have a good understanding of its purpose?

It takes a lot longer than the suggested 5 seconds (sort of a standard timing thing that people base the initial looking at a site on) In fact I am not sure that it ever achieves a good understanding of what the purpose of the site is, or how a visitor can benefit from staying on your site, or even if your site provides the thing that they came to look for (except to buy a baby grand at a price as advertised)
B/ Based on the answer to A/ I would think that the answer would be for most visitors to be NOT inclined to look further.
c/ Looking around (which is not exactly user-friendly due to the small size of the menu links etc, does achieve the desired results, even is the pages are a little complicated to read,.