V3 - overwrite RSD

User 458539 Photo


Registered User
1,332 posts

Does V# overwrite RSD? Would be nice to work in RSD while learning V3

Byron
User 2088758 Photo


Senior Advisor
2,767 posts

Yes it does so make sure you save your SD3 projects in a different location.
Taking over the world one website at a time!

Steve Kolish
www.misterwebguy.com

YouTube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8qVv … ttneYaMSJA
User 122279 Photo


Senior Advisor
13,004 posts

The programme SD3 does not overwrite RSD, but when you have installed it, it has the same file icon and extension (.rsd), so if you open an old rsd project, it will open in SD3 - unless you deliberately open it in RSD. So do what Steve says.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway
My new honey site, built with RFF: https://eikweb.com/horgenhonning/
Component sharing for RFF, RBB, RSD and SD: https://eikweb.com/sharing/


User 2088758 Photo


Senior Advisor
2,767 posts

It will overwrite it Inger. I have done it by mistake because it does have the same extension. It will strip all the columns and rows out and convert them to containers. If you save and close you will not be able to open in RSD.

Taking over the world one website at a time!

Steve Kolish
www.misterwebguy.com

YouTube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8qVv … ttneYaMSJA
User 2699991 Photo


Registered User
2,851 posts
Online Now

Steve wrote:
It will overwrite it Inger. I have done it by mistake because it does have the same extension. It will strip all the columns and rows out and convert them to containers. If you save and close you will not be able to open in RSD.


I think what Inger means is that V3 doesn't overwrite the actual program V2.5, so V2.5 can still be used alongside V3, but V3 does overwrite any project file created in previous versions of RSD project files. as you say ,,, once a project file has been opened in V3 it cannot be opened in any previous version of RSD, unless you have a backup of the Project file,

Which I think is what Byron is asking, so no Byron V3 doesn't overwrite V2.5 you can use & have both open at the same time, BUT you cannot open a project file from V2.5 with V3, then go back to V2.5 on that project file UNLESS you have a back=up project file.
The Help You Need: When You Need It The Most
User 122279 Photo


Senior Advisor
13,004 posts

Wayan is right, the programme itself does not get overwritten. I have both RSD and SD3 running on my machine, and sometimes I open the same file in both - on purpose - to see what is different. That way I have been able to convert some basic bits.
With both those apps installed, if you double click on an .rsd file, it will be opened in SD3. However, if you right click and choose 'open with', you can open your old .rsd files in RSD.
If you try opening an SD3 file in RSD, you will get an error about invalid file or so. If you happen to open an old RSD project in SD3, it will be opened, and converted on the fly. But if you dont't save, just quit the programme, your old file is safe. But because it is so easy to make a mistake there, the RSD-made files should be kept separated from the SD3-made ones. And I would also advise you to make a backup of what you don't want to have converted.

I find it a pity that both those programmes share the same file extension. It causes quite some confusion, to put it mildly. :(
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway
My new honey site, built with RFF: https://eikweb.com/horgenhonning/
Component sharing for RFF, RBB, RSD and SD: https://eikweb.com/sharing/


User 2088758 Photo


Senior Advisor
2,767 posts

I would agree with you. I would love if they made it convert to a .sd extension instead.
Taking over the world one website at a time!

Steve Kolish
www.misterwebguy.com

YouTube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8qVv … ttneYaMSJA
User 2147473 Photo


Registered User
156 posts

I have a question: After converting (opening) my old RSD project in the new SD3 using the Foundations format, it created a container element within a container (possibly because it converted what was a column to a container). Is this proper? Or am I to try and delete the extra container?
User 122279 Photo


Senior Advisor
13,004 posts

Your observation is correct. If you don't convert, you may end up with a container too many for each row you have in your original project. You can delete one of them, and it will be the styling that will decide which one to delete. Keep the one with more styling, I'd say.
The easiest way that I've found here, is to first create a backup of your initial project, give it a new name. Then you open one version in SD3 and the other version in RSD. In SD3 you can edit the rows and columns and change them to containers, and if some styling gets lost (my experience is that it does), you will have the RSD version to look at to get it right again. Also, if you want to get rid of some of the redundant containers from the SD3 version, make sure you 'lift' any contents up above that container (in the elements tree) before deleting it. Otherwise also the contents will go down the drain.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway
My new honey site, built with RFF: https://eikweb.com/horgenhonning/
Component sharing for RFF, RBB, RSD and SD: https://eikweb.com/sharing/


User 2147473 Photo


Registered User
156 posts

I think it can be resolved under the elements pane by simply clicking and dragging the intended elements into the desired container, and then deleting the extra container once cleared.

Have something to add? We’d love to hear it!
You must have an account to participate. Please Sign In Here, then join the conversation.