Site Designer Git version control? -...

User 91411 Photo

1 post

Hello Everybody,

I'm very new to use Site Designer for stuff going into production. I've used that app as a kind of prototyping and then make all the fine-tuning and changes on the exported files. Allowing me to keep track of the project with git. This way of working makes it's very hard to keep the Site Designer project up to date.

It will be highly appreciated if someone can share their experience with ways to handle version control (e.g. git) on a Site Designer project.

Very best regards

Jens Kjelsbak

User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,447 posts
Online Now

I'm not so much into version control, but if I understand you correctly, you are looking for a way to go back to earlier versions of something, be it a project in SD or any other kind of project. I don't know Git, is that a programme to use for this?

Anyway, what most people here in this forum are doing, is maintaining their own system, something like 'project.rsd', then 'project-1' or 'project 20200716' or something like that. We sometimes post our projects if we need some help, and then it comes back after someone have been working on it, with the file name extended with something more or less meaningful.

As to SD itself, every time there is a new version, it has a new build number. Those of us who are doing a bit of help here in the forum, have to watch that we use the same version as the one who has posted a project, otherwise the project owner will not be able to open it. So, if I guessed correctly what you're after; no, you cannot go back 'in time' between the SD versions just like that, you actually have to keep previous versions stored if you need to open an older version and save it as the same version. That may mean quite a bit of uninstalling and reinstalling.

If I missed your point, then please excuse.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress: