One css file for whole site with Grid...

User 2220522 Photo

49 posts

Another question from a newbie:

It looks like all the pages on my site built with CGB will be looking at the same css file (main.css). Should I worry that this will make the pages load slowly? My site will have about 60 pages and the file is 8kb with 2 pages completed.

This brings up another question, what is the page limit for CGB? Is it about the same as SD (60-75)?

The previous web authoring tool I used had individual css files for each page. I could follow the code for each page, but for a whole web site? I worry about bloat that may occur due to editing (snippets of css left behind when things are deleted). It will be near impossible to check the css code.

Are my worries unfounded? I'm new to coffeecup and have been burned in the past with inefficient authoring tools.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Marty
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,447 posts
Online Now

8KB is as good as nothing. If you give each element on each page different class names, of course it will add to the main.css, but the idea is to reuse the class names for similar elements. I don't know of any site builder that uses a separate css file for each page. That would also defeat the purpose of having a style sheet for easy styling, in one place, the elements that you have on every page. The norm is having the grid system css files (1 - 2 of them) plus a custom stylesheet for the rules you add yourself.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress:
Components for Site Designer and the HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com

User 379556 Photo

1,533 posts

The maximum page limit for SD is currently 125 (see here). CGB currently allows a maximum of 10 pages.

Frank
User 379556 Photo

1,533 posts

Marty wrote:
I worry about bloat that may occur due to editing (snippets of css left behind when things are deleted).

In my experience, SD, CGB etc. automatically remove any unused style settings.