xara vs coffee cup - Post ID 168927

User 2292696 Photo

2 posts

Hi! I've read up on coffee cup, and it tops the ratings. However, it might not be the best choice for me - please let me know what you think.
I already have the programs xara photo & graphic designer 6, and photoshop CS3. (windows xp)
I would like to set up a web site/blog for my photography.
I am a complete newbie to web design. However, I did have a photo blog on word press for awhile.
I need something simple to use. (after age 60 it takes me forever to figure things out - and only if the step by step printed instructions are in front of my nose...LOL)
I have some of my photos for sale on Getty, so a web site would be cool to add to that.
It's cheeky of me to ask on this forum, I know, but do you think it would make more sense (given my limited "capacities") for me to purchase xara web designer version 6 ...since I already have the graphic designer...... or should I purchase the coffee cup web design, and use it in conjunction with my other programs?
(it seems coffee cup is more highly rated, but xara has more bells and whistles, albeit a few glitches too)
alex
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,456 posts

Hard to say anything about Xara, but maybe you can download a trial version of it to test how comfortable you are with it. If you go for CoffeeCup, and if you prefer a visual approach, download a trial version of Visual Site Designer (VSD in short) and then compare.

Not knowing anything about the Xara user forum either (if they have one), but this forum is awsome! We'll help you through the nifties of VSD if you need it. :)
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress:
Components for Site Designer and the HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com

User 2292696 Photo

2 posts

Thanks! I think I am leaning this way. It looks like a good forum.
I'll download VSD and try it out. Is that the best choice for me out of all the coffee cup products?
alex
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor