I need help linking between two pages...

User 372694 Photo

32 posts

Hi

I'm just starting out learning HTML and I have hit a small bump on my way to become a code guru !

I'm following a tutorial where I have to link two pages together, but my problem is that once I follow the link on the first page called Firstpage.html then the page I'm supposed to come to Secondpage.html is a white screen and I'm not able to see the text I have written on it !

The pages I have created is:

Firstpage.html

Secondpage.html

The code I'm using 'Firstpage in order to link to the Scondpage is:

<a href="Secondpage.html">Link to my Secondpage</a>

According to my tutorial this should be enough if the to pages resides in the same folder and I have made sure that they do so !

What is it I'm doing wrong here ?
User 187934 Photo

Senior Advisor
20,190 posts
Online Now

Have you published your pages so we can see them live?:)

Share a link.

Make sure your pages are actually named:
firstpage.html
secondpage.html

and not

Firstpage.html
Secondpage.html

as this is the preferred way.

Then change the name in the links to.

<a href="firstpage.html">Link to my First page</a>
<a href="secondpage.html">Link to my Second page</a>

I can't hear what I'm looking at.
It's easy to overlook something you're not looking for.

This is a site I built for my work.(RSD)
http://esmansgreenhouse.com
This is a site I built for use in my job.(HTML Editor)
https://pestlogbook.com
This is my personal site used for testing and as an easy way to share photos.(RLM imported to RSD)
https://ericrohloff.com
User 372694 Photo

32 posts

Hi

Thank you for the advice.

I have just opened the HTML Editor and do what you have described, however, before making my alterations I tried once more to click on the links just to make sure that I still had the problem.

Gee, guess what; now it works !!!

I have also, found a strange behavior, which I suspect could be a bug: