Compatibility Questions - Post ID 142674

User 2149871 Photo

2 posts

I do some HTML I learned in college but don't have the right software for what I want to do now. I love the Coffee Cup software I bought years ago and want to stay with the company if possible.

I have a large number of templates my hosting company provides free of charge but I am unable to modify these templates with my existing software. My questions are these:

If I buy Firestarter can I open and change files made in other Flash programs? The templates I have already have wording such as "Company Name" and "Lorem Ipsum" comments in the Flash portions. I am totally new to Flash but have a decent learning curve so will be able to pick it up (I hope!) if I get the right program.

I do HTML but I am sooooooooooooooooo slooooooooooooow and, to be honest, I'm still caught in 4.0. Will I be able to get my websites up and running faster if I go to WYSIWYG? I hated it back in school but that was a very long time ago and I imagine it has evolved. Any input from people who are used to HTML that have moved to WYSIWYG? Also, how about compatibility with other company's templates?

Lastly, I need a very simple to use e-commerce cart to start with but hope to grow. Should I spend the extra money to get the higher end cart and how does it compare to the others? Does it also work with templates from other companies?

Thanks a million, fellow CC fans. I really truly appreciate any help you can give me and please forgive me if I've asked a question that has an obvious answer.
User 539803 Photo

2,156 posts

cant advise on html as i do not have the foggiest idea what to do with it total novice,

However as a newbie VSD is childs play, wysiwyg i now make my own templates using vsd.

The scc basic is great if you just want a handfull of categories and one price per product,

If you want sub categories, and price options ie small £10.00 medium + 2.00 large + 3.00 SCC pro is the business.