what website folders I need to use .....

User 150776 Photo

Trial User
2 posts

hi,

Sorry if these questions seem to be self-evident...they are not, to me.

I'm a composer of electronic music, and I've just put up a CMS-based website, so I didn't actualy have to know much of anything to get the website up on my webspace.

Now, I'd like to a able to allow people who visit my site to play some of my compositions, and I'd like to try and use your application to do that.

Since I know very little about website directory structure I'm not quite sure where to put the folders and the code for the program.

My webspace has three main folders: a CGI-BIN folder...an HTDOCS folder...and a LOG folder.

All of my website folders, as well as any loose php files that make up the site are all under the HTDOCS folder.

I thought I could just place a folder with my mp3s under the HTDOCS main folder, but that seems keep my website from displaying properly in a browser (when the folder is present the website won't display...when I take the folder out the website displays correctly).

Do I need to create a folder for my mp3s at the same level as the HTDOCS and CGI-BIN folders?...in otherwords: CGI-BIN, HTDOCS, LOG, MP3?

And, where exactly do I paste the code for the player, so that is does not interfere with my website files?...does the code need a folder of its own?

My apologies for my stupidity about this...I'm just beginning my experiment with establishing a web presence.

Thanks..any help would be greatly appreciated.
User 117361 Photo

Ambassador
6,076 posts

Hi Moonz,
No expert, but let's try to look at this together! When you get up on to your server and open everything up, you will have all those folders you mentioned, plus a big white space. Correct? Or at least, a space occupied by files that you may have already uploaded.
Now, have no fear. So long as you have got a back up of all your files on your own PC nothing terrible is going to happen if you just experiment a bit.