SSL question - Post ID 276878

User 2765857 Photo

614 posts

Hello all,
OK it looks like it has finally come time to add the SSL to our site, I have been searching on CC forum and also google for help (again). Since prices do vary so much has any one here used SSL2BUY to purchase a SSL Certificate? If so any thoughts about them positive and or negative? They are re-sellers for many brands and I am looking at 3 that they sell: COMODO POSITIVE SSL - RapidSSL and GeoTrust. Either one would be SINGLE DOMAIN. Prices are much much lower than if I went direct. I know I would also need a Dedicated ISP that my hosting charges $19.00 for and also a one time install of about $50. Since I am NOT a designer like so many here in CC, would going this way or just using a Free SHARED SSL with my hosting company be just as good?????? We have about 60 pages using RSD 1.5 and plan next year to hopefully to change site to Foundation Framer (stand alone). Would this cause a problem if a SSL is installed before updating from RSD 1.5 to FF ???
Thanks,
Ray
Ray aka Kreations
Since 1994 Chocolate bar wrappers for all occasions.
Since 1972 helping clients help "Discover Their Dream Vacation"
User 187934 Photo

Senior Advisor
20,181 posts

Most SSL's are similar but may offer more coverage if something happens. You only absolutely need one if your collecting credit card data or maybe personnel info. I know Google is pushing for it so get the cheapest one you can if your not collecting data. It doesn't matter when you install it for your site as it has nothing to do with html except some links you may place.
I can't hear what I'm looking at.
It's easy to overlook something you're not looking for.

This is a site I built for my work.(RSD)
http://esmansgreenhouse.com
This is a site I built for use in my job.(HTML Editor)
https://pestlogbook.com
This is my personal site used for testing and as an easy way to share photos.(RLM imported to RSD)
https://ericrohloff.com
User 2765857 Photo

614 posts