GDPR compliance - Post ID 299768

User 130413 Photo

Ambassador
25 posts

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) applies from 25 May 2018 within the EU, so I wanted to know what the implications are for the software I use from coffeeCup such as the shopping cart and form builder. My take on the areas that will hit webmasters within the eu are as follows:

Contact form design
Marketing 'opt-in' forms design
Privacy notices (often referred to as Privacy policies)
Website security - encryption (SSL)
Cookie consent
Data breaches and your obligations
Processing data of under 18's

Are there any plans to incorporate GDPR compliance into software (yes I am a lazy designer)?
John Harvey

User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,450 posts
Online Now

I think it would be better if you open a support ticket for your question. The CC staffers don't always read the forum posts.

But I would think that it would be the responsibility of every individual/company that keeps customer/client details to make sure they follow the new regulations.

Maybe CC could put together a support article that gives advice about the GDPR, as it doesn't just concern people/companies within the EU, but also those from other countries that have EU residents as customers/clients. CC themselves, e.g.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress:
Components for Site Designer and the HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com

User 362156 Photo

46 posts

"But I would think that it would be the responsibility of every individual/company that keeps customer/client details to make sure they follow the new regulations. "