Materialize Framework - Post ID 285382

User 2659348 Photo

113 posts

I just want some honest opinions. I am about to finally rebuild this site (http://www.customdeckworks.com). I've been waiting until I built some smaller (and less important to me) sites and got more familiar with coffeecup software in general.

I just looked it up and found that Materialize is a Google platform. Well..... the entity we are (or me, anyway) trying to please the most is Google. It's also designed to have a minimal footprint. So those seems like good things. Good reasons to use it.
But also, Bob just unleashed a Theme that is FULL of Materialize Components - with the promise that more are coming fast. And I LOVE components!

For context:
I'm not a web guy or site builder. I'm a carpenter. But I learned "a lot" (lol) about coding by messing with the site above (that a friend built for me) over the years. And then I built another one - from scratch, hand-coded. But it's SO bulky and not even responsive!
I've done a couple of 'nothing' sites with SD3 and Grid Builder just trying to practice. I want to be able to start rebuilding that site above and move along & get it done!

So who votes I should use Materialize for this site? Why, why not?
Any help/advice is appreciated!
Knowing is half the battle
User 283347 Photo

388 posts

Hey Chris,

Here is my 2 cents (worth less, I'm sure). While the new component site is nice, nobody seems to be using the materialize platform (out of those showing sites made with SD3). I took a quick look through the "show us your site made with SD3"...most used Foundation...a couple had bootstrap and a couple used vanilla. So, if you think you might need someone with hands-on experience, it seems most use Foundation and are more familiar with it. Bootstrap seems to be a distant 2nd for whatever reason.