Need help figuring out what else I...

User 283347 Photo

388 posts

Hello All,

So, I've been messing with the "comet" layout and have posted what I have here... http://mynetshepherd.coffeecup.com/

Anyway...here is my issue:
When I apply "position: fixed" to the header (which is line#319 in the CSS) when you minimize the screen the logo (or banner image) disappears. If you do not fix the header this does not happen.
Can someone point me in the right direction so the banner image stays in place?
BTW...I also had to apply a margin of 90px to the bg of the banner image after putting the fixed position as it caused a alignment problem there, too.

I am not a coder and dont really know what I'm doing, but I must say messing around with this thing has been fun and informative.

Thanks,

MJ

User 2484360 Photo

3,293 posts

Hey Mark,

The banner does not disappear, it is pushed under the Nav which is set to fixed. There are two ways to correct this issue.

First and best way, is that when on a breakpoint where your nav is changed to 100% width you should remove the position:fixed from the nav as that is a large amount of screen space taken up.

The second option would be to give the banner area margin equal to the height of the nav at the breakpoint.

I would recommend the first option as it is the most user friendly.
User 283347 Photo

388 posts

Thanks, Adam!

I follow your logic about removing the position:fixed, but I have no clue where to do that (or how) without removing the whole deal.
is this done in rlmp or html editor? (i changed to position:fixed in html editor as that is the only way I know...and know is a relative term:) )

Thanks!
User 2484360 Photo

3,293 posts

mark johnson wrote:
Thanks, Adam!

I follow your logic about removing the position:fixed, but I have no clue where to do that (or how) without removing the whole deal.