Coffee Cup Software and Linux - Post...

User 3004957 Photo

846 posts

Thanks for your responses! It's sad that there are no plans to make Linux versions of CoffeeCup software. If I was a programmer, I'd happily take on the task, but I'm not. Oh well, looks like if I did go totally GNU/Linux with Ubuntu, I would definitely be losing my favourite web editor. Running CoffeeCup software through VirtualBox would be annoying because that would mean you'll need a virtual Windows OS and they can be a hassle to install, especially with their product codes and activations. I guess the other alternative Is Wine. I guess GNU/Linux users will just have to keep hoping that one day their dreams will come true.
User 364143 Photo

5,410 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wWtXobFa8wk&feature=related
CoffeeCup... Yeah, they are the best!
User 498407 Photo

4 posts

I would love to see it to. I am using windows and mac at the moment. Not really into the whole hyped up mac thing and hate windows. Love the UI of Ubuntu. So would love to see a Linux version of CC one day.

Love CC software.
Web Design Cape Town
www.webdesigncapetown.co.za
User 38401 Photo

Senior Advisor
10,951 posts

Jo Ann wrote:
Hiya Brad,

I'm pretty sure I read in a thread a little while ago that there is not plans to create Linux versions of the software.

Inger Eik wrote:

Yes, I've read that too. Among other things because all, or nearly all, Linux stuff is open source, so it's a financial question. Lance's solution for running CC apps will be the best, me thinks.
User 629005 Photo

Ambassador
2,174 posts

Open Source does not equal FREE (although yes, there is quite a bit of FREE Linux based software out there). There are also many successful Pay to Play Linux software titles as well.
Living the dream, stocking the cream :D
User 364143 Photo

5,410 posts