Uploading to internet - Post ID 77333

User 97153 Photo

4 posts

I have conflicting imfo from godaddy my server, and coffeecup when trying to put the uploading imfo in?
One says to type in my domainname in the FTPserver ----------
and godaddy says to type in 'godaddy'
Also in the www field do you put your whole domain name or just 'www'
I gather the profile name is your site name?
sorry I'm new at this and only have version 3 that I bought a few years ago .It doesnt have a test feature. So how can I tell if the upload works?
User 355448 Photo

Ambassador
3,144 posts

Sandra,

I have one GoDaddy site. This is what works for me.

I enter my domain name without the www. Just enter mydomain.com (using your real domain name.

I enter the user name

I enter the password.

The profile name is something you associate with the site. It really comes into play when you have multiple sites.

I don't have the same version of the program you are using, so I can't give you a screen shot.
User 97153 Photo

4 posts

So how long until one can view the site on the net? And where will I find the location address ?
User 355448 Photo

Ambassador
3,144 posts

Sandra,

If you have uploaded to your site, you should be able to view the pages immediately. Once you view a page, you may need to clear your cache to view any changes, but generally just refreshing the page will allow you to view changes.

Have you uploaded? If so, you entered your domain name in the FTP information. Use that in your browser to view your page. As an example, the domain name of this site is coffeecup.com and that is what would be entered as the domain in an FTP application. To view this site, you use a browser and enter www.coffeecup.com and your browser finds the site and displays it.
User 97153 Photo

4 posts

I have filled in the domain name in FTP server location ,Done the username and password (checked with godaddy on that) I have uploaded the site using the send button . It says its gone to be published.