Finding out your www folder? - Post...

User 467042 Photo

19 posts

Stuggling newbie here.....
I am using 123-reg for hosting my website. I have contacted them directly but they have not given me a clear answer. This is there response:

It seems as though the coffeecup program is referring to you hosting space. Your default www folder will be the root of you ftp or the /.

Any help?
User 467042 Photo

19 posts

This is there latest response:

Yes the folder exists and with us you do not need to specify any folder to it. If you are unable to upload this website through the software you are using try using another client. Also please confirm the login details of your FTP account so i can login here and support.

I am not sure what they mean by 'using another client'?
Do they mean not using coffeecup?
User 355448 Photo

Ambassador
3,144 posts

Rix,

What FTP program are you using? Are you using the VSD built in FTP, the HTML Editor built in FTP, or a stand alone FTP program?

I suspect all you need is your domain name (yoursite.com) and the username and password supplied by your hosting service.
User 475970 Photo

4 posts

Hi Please Help --

I am having the same problem and am a newbie as well. But I must say I love CCVSD it is so user friendly.

I need to know what my www folder is. I am using Domainit as my web hosting and I was trying to use the upload feature in CCVSD but everything I have tried in my www folder comes up with the following error message: please check to see if you entered the correct internet destination server, username, password in the dialog box File->Misc->Internet Connection.

Any suggestions on what I am missing. I have my www folder set as index.html is that correct. I can't seem to find a Misc menu on my File menu.
Please help,
Hopeless :(
User 475970 Photo

4 posts

Hi Hopeless Here again-