Positioning elements on form - Post...

User 10674 Photo

17 posts

I really don't understand how to make a form look the way I want it to look. It makes very little sense to me.
for example: I have name and email on the first line, address1 on the second line and I want address2 under address1 on the third line. Form builder wants to put it next to address1. That's not where I want it. If I increase the width percentage then It centers the field on the third line.
I find it EXTREMELY difficult to get the elements where I want them.
I have been using Coffee Cup software for several years and this is the first time that I am beginning to think I should not have purchased one of CC's software programs.
I really don't know about the other elements because I haven't spent any time with them. If I can't get the text fields where I want them then I will have to stick with the flash Form Builder and I won't need any other elements. I wanted to switch because I can't email results with the flash version.

My form is at http://sandi.coffeecup.com/forms/vollite/
The original form is at www.pascodemocrats.com/volunteer.html
User 10674 Photo

17 posts

I have one more problem. How do I get each text field over to the left side of the form. I can get the label to the left but the input box stays where it is.
Why does the label start way to the right of where the field starts? Am I missing something? I have looked at all the settings, I have 0 padding on the left.
User 103173 Photo

VP of Software Development
0 posts

It is actually pretty simple Sandra. All you need to do is click on each element and then go to the Properties Tab and change the Item Width. This allows you to reduce the size of the element bringing them up next to one another. You can then use the padding options to space them out more.

I took your form on your site and made this one in 8 minutes. I actually think I am getting faster at this. :)

http://sample.coffeecup.com/forms/volunteer/