Installing version 3.5 and 5.0 on the...

User 332337 Photo


Registered User
116 posts

Hello,

I have a client site that is still 3.5 and I want to be able to make changes - can I install 2 versions (3.5 and 5.0) of Site Designer on the same computer? Are there location issues I need to be aware of?

Thanks
User 122279 Photo


Senior Advisor
13,774 posts
Online Now

If your machine is a Mac you can without problems. I have never tried having two windows versions installed at the same time, but I have had to help a fair amount of users who had installed SD to some location of their own choice and then got into trouble. So I would not recommend it.

What I do myself if I have to help someone with an older version is, uninstalling my new version and then install the older one. Afterwards, I switch back to the new one again.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway
This site was made before we were able to create components through the app:
Component sharing for RFF, RBB, RSD and SD: https://eikweb.com/sharing/
My work in progress right now:
Components for the same as above + HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com


User 122279 Photo


Senior Advisor
13,774 posts
Online Now

Mind you, if your client relies on you to maintain the site, and there is nobody but you who is actually using SD3.5, there is nothing stopping you from opening the site in version 5 and save it, then voilà, it is an SD5 site.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway
This site was made before we were able to create components through the app:
Component sharing for RFF, RBB, RSD and SD: https://eikweb.com/sharing/
My work in progress right now:
Components for the same as above + HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com


User 2088758 Photo


Senior Advisor
2,985 posts

I would be careful when doing this and make sure you have a backup saved somewhere before you open in the updated SD. Once you open it in the new version you will no longer be able to open in the old version and if you plan on sharing with your client again that is working in the old version, they will not be able to open the new version.

There are some differences depending on how you set up or what framework you used. Usually its just fine but sometimes it messes everything up.
Clear as mud! lol:D:D:D
Taking over the world one website at a time!

Steve Kolish
www.misterwebguy.com

YouTube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8qVv … ttneYaMSJA

Have something to add? We’d love to hear it!
You must have an account to participate. Please Sign In Here, then join the conversation.