CNAME question... - Post ID 158825

User 2218809 Photo

5 posts

Hi, I am new to S-Drive but enjoying what it can when usd with VSD.

I have a question about setting up CNAME records.

I have a domain name registered redbanjo.co.uk and have set up a CNAME record so that now if I type redbanjo.co.uk it takes me to my S-Drive site, but if I type the www. it still goes to the original holding page and not my S-Drive.

So my question is if I enter www.redbanjo.co.uk as another CNAME record would that sort the problem out.

Hope that makes sense.

Lewis.
User 103173 Photo

VP of Software Development
0 posts

You can point as many domains over to your S-Drive account that you like. You just need to setup both www.redbanjo.co.uk and redbanjo.co.uk to point to your *.coffeecup.com account. Some hosting services even allow you to do a wildcard and send all *.redbanjo.co.uk to a single location.
Learn the essentials with these quick tips for Responsive Site Designer, Responsive Email Designer, Foundation Framer, and the new Bootstrap Builder. You'll be making awesome, code-free responsive websites and newsletters like a boss.
User 2218809 Photo

5 posts

Hi Scott,

That's great to hear, I will set up the www. CNAME in minute, but it can take a while for it to become active.

Thanks,
Lewis
User 2218809 Photo

5 posts

Ok Scott, following on from my last post...

I have set up both www.redbanjo.co.uk and redbanjo.co.uk to point to redbanjo.coffeecup.com
Now, depending on what domain I use on my Dashboard, one or the other will work eg. if my Dashboard uses the www.redbanjo.co.uk then that will take me to my site and redbanjo.co.uk will take me to the There's nothing here yet page, and it works the other way round too.

Am I missing a step out?

Thanks,
Lewis.

User 103173 Photo

VP of Software Development
0 posts

Lewis Barton wrote:
Ok Scott, following on from my last post...

I have set up both www.redbanjo.co.uk and redbanjo.co.uk to point to redbanjo.coffeecup.com