Confused - Post ID 230902

User 501219 Photo

6 posts

I have worked with VSD for a long time, and have read many ads and promotional mails reg. RLM, but I am still confused and have not found the easy answer in the material presented:
- Does RML only make a "template" site that must be edited with content in another tool?
- Can RML over time replace VSD?
- Is it depending on uploading to the S drive? (I host my own server)
- How do I actually MAKE content if I use RML?

I know I will be able to find the answers if I use time to investigate as I work in the IT field, (but not web-field), but my time is limited and by receiving so many promotional emails over a long period, it is strange this is not spelled out more clearly for us dummies:-) Or- maybe I just missed out on the fine print...
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,447 posts
Online Now

RLM makes wireframes, not sites. You can't use it in connection with VSD (well, only with difficulties and various hacks). Instead you export the wireframe and open it up in a code editor and add the content.

What you should be holding out for, is the not yet quite ready RSD (Responsive Site Designer). It will be for non-coders. Don't think the launch of it is far away.

And yes, you can hoist the sites wherever you want.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress:
Components for Site Designer and the HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com

User 2147626 Photo

Ambassador
2,958 posts

- Does RML only make a "template" site that must be edited with content in another tool?
Yes.

- Can RML over time replace VSD?
RSD wil replace VSD, but RLM is responsive where VSD is not. RSD will be responsive and can be used with RLM.

- Is it depending on uploading to the S drive? (I host my own server)
You do not have to use S-Drive and can continue to host on your own server.

- How do I actually MAKE content if I use RML?