The HTML Editor 12.9 > 14.1 upgrade?...

User 47496 Photo

2 posts

Hi All

I've been a CC HTML Editor user (and many other CC applications too) since 2001, and have always been able to upgrade to the latest version, which was the undertaking given by CC at the time of purchase - a promis of lifetime upgrades.

It now appears that I can't upgrade to The HTML Editor 14.1.

Does anyone know if CC have now reneged on the undertaking they gave way back in 2001? :/

Thanks

David

User 103173 Photo

VP of Software Development
0 posts

Wow David, your last order was in 2006. OUCH! :)

We have been discussing this for years now so I think you must be just deleting our emails. However, you more then got your monies worth on a purchase made in 2001. ;)

In over 15 years of making amazing Web Design and other software products, CoffeeCup has in general, delivered improved versions of the software free of charge. We will continue to do so, especially when a new version mainly consists of minor improvements and fixes. However, from time to time there will be new versions that require rewrites of the application or parts of the application. This process requires significant research, design, development and testing time. In those situations and on a case by case basis, CoffeeCup reserves the right to require a fee for upgrading to the new and improved version of the software. Given the resources it would take, we would hate to withhold implementing these improvements purely based on financial decisions; charging a nominal fee for updates is the only way to accomplish this.

Our lifetime upgrade policy was actually changed quite some time ago and you will not find any references on our website that allude to any lifetime policy. On our website we do list our Upgrade Policy. This is also in the EULA when you install the Editor. Yeah that legal stuff we all click YES on. ;)