Absolute newbie needs help with...

User 507558 Photo

6 posts

Hello to all.

I am a totally inexperienced webmaster on an existing website. The job became mine when no one else wanted to try to do it, and I volunteered. I'd always had luck learning software, and have been around computers since 1968. The website is that of a cultural organization that has seen some problems, not the least of which are the sudden departure of the person maintaining the site.

Coffee Cup 2008 was purchased because it looked like the easiest program to use.

My operating system is WinXP - Home Edition.

My software is Coffee Cup 2008, build 242, a registered version.

Website URL is: http://www.filamidaho.org/

What is needed quickly is to post a couple of forms on the page on the website that you get to by clicking on the link in the left hand column to "forms and documents". Additionally, I would like to find out how to replace most of the event coverage with something more current. The software wants me to put in a username and password, but also asks for a server. What is the name of the server that gets put in?

Thank you for any and all help.
User 355448 Photo

Ambassador
3,144 posts

Terry,

Are you wanting forms that you fill out while on-line? If so, you can use the CoffeeCup form builder. It works great.

You need to have the FTP user name and password to FTP the files to the website. When you start, the nickname is for folks using more than one site. Just put in something that indicates the website.

Username is the name associated with the FTP user. You may need to get this from your hosting company, and they may give you a new password.

Password is for the FTP to the site.

For the web server address, just try using filamidaho.org

That may be all you need to do, but give this a try and get back to the forum if you need additional help.
User 507558 Photo

6 posts

Thank you Bill, for your reply.