Putting it together - Post ID 165689

User 2263310 Photo

2 posts

Hello
I'm a rookie at building sites and until now have used Webeasy 8. I'm looking at learning the next step which brought me here.
The question is How exactly do the different programs come together?
For instance if one uses the site builder to make the basic site and then uses a shopping cart program, what links them? Does the shopping cart program simply make a web page that you include in the overall design?

The same question would be on other programs in the package. Do they interact with each other or do they create their own output which in turn have to be incorporated into an overall package?

Hope I'm asking the question right.
Thanks
Jim
User 38401 Photo

Senior Advisor
10,951 posts

Hiya Jim,

Not sure exactly what package you're talking about, but for the most part each of the programs is a separate entity, they don't totally integrate with the others, but they give you the ability to create the items you are wanting from it and then upload the files and insert the code it gives you. Usually not a very difficult thing, but takes a bit of getting used to at first.

The Shopping Cart Creator programs are a different species entirely since they don't just create the shopping cart itself, but the site entirely for the cart. You can link an external site with your cart by linking them within the menu, but it's still mostly just a link in the menu (you can create your home page outside the cart and link it as the home page inside the cart too so it can mesh pretty nicely), but it's still an external system and the 2 menus will be different. Still it works very well this way for many and it's not a hard thing to do once you figure out that there are themes for the Shopping Cart Creators and themes for the HTML Editor or VSD which can be matched to the Cart themes so you have a good place to start in matching the external pages to the cart site.