RSD Newbie - Bootstrap 3, 4, or...

User 2351765 Photo

2 posts

Hi Everyone,

I am completely new to RSD and am not sure where to start. I am sure this would have been covered before but I couldn't find anything.

My question is what are the differences between the frameworks and how would I know which is best. I have very basic knowledge of html and even less of CSS. What am I best to start with? I know I should really learn html and css properly. I have previously bought a copy of the CC html editor with the intention of coding from scratch but I haven't had chance so far. Is it better to learn html and css first?

Any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks
Richard
User 235071 Photo

110 posts

Initially you'll probably find it a very steep learning curve learning HTML/CSS, especially using RSD.
I first learnt over 20 years ago, but not as a computer programmer or web designer --- i.e., apart from my own static (as opposed to database-driven / dynamic content) sites.
(as a newbie you probably won't need to know too much about different versions -- just that it's best to stay with one version, and one Framework, per project -- so if you come across a Bootstrap 3 that's really providing what you want, work with Bootstrap 3, same with Bootstrap 4 templates -- the latest version, still in Alpha? -- check on GetBootstrap; Foundation latest version 6, check out Zurb Foundation).