Messages in display in Code...

User 3121808 Photo

9 posts

Hello,

I am very new to working with HTML Coding.

In the Window I have the following message on 4 lines of code:

Discarding Unexpected </style> </head> <body>. Does this mean that this code is not seen by the system or do I manually have to remove it myself. Also I did try to copy/paste these message, but the system will not do this ?.

Thanking you in advance

Tony
A M Stephens (Electronically Signed)
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,447 posts
Online Now

Difficult to say when not seeing the whole page code. It could mean that you already have that code that you quote, and then there is an extra set somewhere.
If you have the page with said code uploaded, you could let us have the URL. If not, you could zip up the page and attach it here.
Ha en riktig god dag!
Inger, Norway

My work in progress:
Components for Site Designer and the HTML Editor: https://mock-up.coffeecup.com

User 3121808 Photo

9 posts

Hi Inger,

I have Selected ALL the code in my HTML File, copied and pasted into a blank Notepad File and saved using the same file name.txt

I have attached this file.

Once again thank you for your perseverance.

Tony
Attachments:
User 122279 Photo

Senior Advisor
14,447 posts
Online Now

Hi, I got your file. That bit of code you mentioned initially can be deleted, as there was indeed a double set of those tags. There was also a tag missing; the end body tag at the bottom of the file. I have corrected it in the attached file.

I also found a couple of other things that you should correct.
First, the file name. You should always name your files without any spaces, so if your file is My Contact Page Dev 1, use either 'mycontactpagedev1.html' or 'my-contact-page-dev-1.html. Also, it will be easier for any end user if you use all lowercase. Some servers do make a difference with the cases.
Second, the <label> needs to have the end tag </label> Check you tags for Location.