Breakpoints - recommended best...

User 2736027 Photo

68 posts

I am relatively new to RED, but have read through the Quick Start Guide to get me going.

While I understand the concept and need to predict how an email may be presented to email clients and varying screen sizes, I couldn't find a 'best practices' on what the default breakpoints should be set to. I know I can vary the slider to various widths, or number of pixels, and that's fine. But what are 'the standard' screen widths to which I set my breakpoints? And second, can I store these breakpoint settings as 'preferences' so that each new email design has knowledge of these settings?

Thanks
User 2088758 Photo

Senior Advisor
3,086 posts

Hi Norm,

The whole idea of break-points is to set them only where needed. Adjust your layout and shrink it and when the layout breaks you add a breakpoint and fix. You should never a set point ... each template will be different so the break points would be in different places.
Taking over the world one website at a time!

Steve Kolish
www.misterwebguy.com

YouTube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8qVv … ttneYaMSJA
User 2736027 Photo

68 posts

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the quick reply...

Where I was getting somewhat confused is... if I have a headline that is 5 words long, say, then as I adjust the slider towards a smaller screen size, I notice that the headline will begin to word-wrap as the number of pixels decrease. For the smaller tablet and phone icons, there is quite a range over which I can adjust the slider, and the icon remains 'lit'. Over this range of adjustment, the headline will word-wrap after 2, or 3 (say) words.

I'm trying to adjust the text size so that for each of the 3 icons (screen sizes) the word-wrap will 'break' at a specific or appropriate locations, if I am explaining myself clearly. I am trying to avoid having a 'dangling' single word on the smaller screen sizes.
User 232214 Photo

COO
827 posts

Steve wrote:
Hi Norm,