I also need to delete a site. I've deleted all of the files I can think of from VSD and FTP plus I remove the alias. The site is still publishing. In S-drive, the only files that are left is the new site I am trying to publish at that same domain. I need to uppublish the site that's there but I don't want to dismantle it. Doesn't VSD have an unpublish feature?
If you want to remove a site, you do that with an FTP client and not with VSD.
I did, with the free FTP. I pulled everything out of it but the homepage is still showing up online.
If it is still showing online, that suggests you deleted something else. When you delete your website and hit refresh in the browser, you will get a "forbidden" message. That shows it is gone.
No, I didn't I checked and double checked. I only deleted the files from this site. The only thing I can think is I'm using the free FTP and if I try to delete some files it tells me that I can't do it in the free version. I deleted everything from the left side but I can't from the right.
We don't have any limits in Free FTP regarding deleting. Did you get some sort of error from the server like "permission denied"?
Have something to add? We’d love to hear it!
You must have an account to participate. Please Sign In Here, then join the conversation.